Baked Polenta Fries

I found a recipe!  A la our dear friend Martha Stewart.

When I was younger, for some strange reason I absolutely loathed Martha. I think it was the fact that she was so perfect at, well, everything.

Now that I am a little older and wiser, and ran across her recipe for Baked Polenta Fries, I thought that maybe her simple recipe would give me the best chance of having these babies turn out decent.

Remember, I am no chef. For real.

Baked Polenta Fries

Makes 2 servings.

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30-35 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 tube (16 oz) plain prepared polenta
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt sense and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano, or Italian seasoning

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degress.
  2. Unwrap prepared polenta and cut each tube in half lengthwise.  Then cut each half crosswise.  Finish cutting each quarter one more time lengthwise leaving you with eight wedges.
  3. Drizzle olive oil onto a baking sheet and place polenta wedges on baking sheet.
  4. Season wedges with salt sense and pepper.
  5. Turn gently to coat with oil
  6. Bake, turning once halfway through until golden and crisp, about 30-35 minutes.
  7. Drain on a paper-towel-lined plate.
  8. Transfer to a clean dish, season with oregano, and serve!


And the verdict is:

Ehhh…Not quite like Cafe Fiorello. 

I need to find different spices to put on them. I think something sweet and salty would be divine.

And as you can see, I also accidentally cooked them for too long.

Next time:

Lighten it up with Pam instead of olive oil.

Try paprika and honey. Or a side of curried ketchup.

I guess Martha isn’t that good, now is she? 😉

Leave a Reply

