Priorities

Recently, my life has been comprised of lists and post-its and reminders of what needs to get done.

My to-dos become to-dones, but my laundry list never seems to end.

Sometimes it can be enough to drive a girl crazy.


Survive has additional sub-categories with things to check off too.  It kinda looks like this…


ACK!

Now that I’ve gotten my whine out of the way, let’s get to what the post is really about… Priorities.  I think I’ve gotten pretty darn good at it.

1)  Get a calender.  And use it.  Put down all of your due dates, exams, work schedules, events, meetings, etc.  This may seem overwhelming at first, but trust me, knowing is half the battle. I like to use my calender on my computer, because I can color coordinate activities and classes.  Red = MNT assignments, Green = Work, Blue = extracurricular activities, etc.  After you have all that in once place, you can make daily lists of what needs to get accomplished.  I have also been known to make excel spreadsheets (oh yes, my dear excel) to schedule myself down to the hour.

2)  Get organized.  Important alert!  If you want your head to stop spinning from the above activity, you must get organized.  This can mean different things to different people.  For me, it means one binder with everything in it.  All my courses have their own nice little section.  Also, creating files/filters for my e-mail inbox.  AND a toughie – keeping my desk in order and my apartment picked up. All of these different activities allow me to find what I need, when I need it.

3) Don’t be so hard on yourself.  This is where I tend to fall off the wagon.  It’s okay if not everything gets checked off your list.  That’s why you’ve done all that the leg work so you can be sure the important stuff is checked off first.  Time management, people!  But sometimes there are just not enough hours in the day.  And that is okay.  Just add what you missed to tomorrow’s list.  It will eventually get done.

The other thing: It is also okay if you aren’t perfect or number one.  Now, I’m not saying not to try your best and work your butt off.  What I’m saying is that sometimes people are just going to be better at something than you.  This also means that not getting a 100% on an assignment is not going to be the end of the world.  My mom always used to tell me, “do your best and that’s all you can do.”  Simple, but powerful.

Alright, well there you have it!  The secret to my success.

Yeah, yeah, yeah.  Whatever. 🙂

One thought on “Priorities

  1. Pingback: Since You’ve Been Gone | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

