Blueberry Beer and (Vegan) Brownies

Yesterday, I had the most strange craving.

A craving for something I usually pass up.

I wanted chocolate. I wanted a brownie.  And it’s unique density – not a hard piece of chocolate, yet not quite cake.

Do you ever get cravings for certain textures?

No?

Okay…

I think maybe I’m having withdrawals from Christmas cookies.

Anyways, so I got my little self down to Wegman’s to pick up a few staples. You know, peanut butter, beer, bread, brownie ingredients.  (And a few other things that aren’t workin’ with the alliteration I’ve got goin’ on here.)

Speaking of beer, this dude was sort of an impulse buy.

Can I get a “what what!” This shiz is good!

Is it possible for my love of blueberries to get any deeper?  Well friends, it did last night.

So I nursed my blueberry beer (or two) and got to baking!

If anyone would like to buy me a mixer, I am accepting donations. 😉

Homemade (Vegan) Brownies

Yield: 12 brownies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 – 35 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 C Sucanat sugar
  • 1/2 C Carob Powder
  • 4 Flax Eggs (1/4 C Ground Flax and 3/4 C Water)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Salt-Sense
  • 1 c. Earth Balance Butter

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven at 350°F.
  2. Whip up flax eggs in large bowl.
  3. Mix in Sucanat, Carob Powder and vanilla.
  4. Gradually add Whole Wheat Flour and Salt Sense.
  5. When that is mixed, blend in Earth Balance Butter.
  6. Spread in a 9×13 inch parchment lined pan.
  7. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes.

This recipe turned out perfectly!  I’ve never made vegan brownies, but with my other vegan baking ventures, the end product is always slightly more dense than it’s non-vegan counterpart.  These brownies turned out just exactly how I expected, and wanted (more importantly!).

Will do.

Good day.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Beer and (Vegan) Brownies

Leave a Reply

