Asparagus Boats

And a good morning to ya!

We have a wet and gray day here in Eastern WA – perfect for a little job and gym searching, mixed in with a bit of Cali apartment hunting.

I think it makes it worse that I only have 3 months here in Wenatchee.

“Uh, yes, I can work approximately 80 days, minus weekends and holidays, so make that closer to 50 days, before I have to move to California.”

I’m an employers dream.

The gym thing may be a little easier, that is if I can get a job at a gym.  Hello, free membership! Otherwise, I may just take advantage of as many trial memberships I can get my hands on over the course of the summer.

Thrifty college graduate.

My dad would be proud.

_____

Moving on!

As you all may or may not know, it’s asparagus season!

I l.o.v.e. asparagus.

Almost as much as I love goat cheese.

And in honor of sharing the love, I am going to let you in on a little preparation tip to make it just that much easier to participate in asparagus face stuffing.

Asparagus Boats!


Don’t you hate it when you are grilling up asparagus and you loose one to the cracks of the grill?

Well, no more, my friends!  This ingenious contraption  [if I do say so myself] will keep every last spear of asparagus safe and sound – primed and ready for you to gobble them down.

So here’s what you do:

  1. Prime your skewers – let these babies soak in water for a half hour or so to ensure minimal burnage of the wood.
  2. Prep (i.e. snap off the woody ends) and marinate your asparagus in the meantime.  I chose to keep it super simple with a little Italian dressing.
  3. Using two skewers, create a little raft by piercing the asparagus just below the buttery top and at the ends.

It’s like playing with your food.  Acceptable grown-up playing with food.

I wonder if these babies would float…?

Okay.  Not acceptable grown-up behavior.

Sometimes I get carried away.

Then all you have to do is throw these babies on a nice, hot grill.

Not-a-one lost!

Pair with yellow squash, zucchini, portobella mushroom caps, and tofu for a delectable, grilled summer dinner.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Asparagus Boats

  1. Pingback: Get Some Structure, Man. | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

