Cherry Oatmeal Pancake Cookies

It’s the weekend!

And Father’s Day Weekend, at that.

Have you got your dad a present yet?

No?

{Me either. He is incredibly hard to buy for.}

Well, you’re in luck, because I have the perfect treat for you to whip up for him.

He will know how much you appreciate him.

_____

Cherry Oatmeal Pancake Cookies

{Gluten-Free}

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 14 minutes

Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 C oat flour *
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/3 C packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 C dried cherries
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 C canola oil

* I didn’t have oat flour, so I took 2 C rolled oats and ground them in the food processor for about 30 seconds.  In general, 1 C rolled oats produces 3/4 C oat flour.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and mix.
  3. In a smaller bowl, combine eggs, extracts, and oil.  Beat lightly until mixture is well mixed.
  4. Combine the wet ingredients to the dry, and {you guessed it} mix.
  5. Using a 1 Tbs measuring spoon, drop cookie mixture on to parchment lined cookie sheets.
  6. Place one cookie sheet in the oven at a time.  Bake for 14 minutes.
  7. Let cool for 5 minutes, and enjoy!

_____

This is my first {successful}, all mine, no-following-a-recipe recipe!

Woohoo!

I was going for the fluffy-ness of a pancake, but in an oatmeal cookie form.

A triumph I would say!

_____

So here’s where I started.

o.a.t.s

I also ground some of our beloved oats to make the oat flour.

Another Stephanie first!

Add a little bit of sweetness.

Pack it down, baby.

The good stuff.

Dried fruit is so addicting. I couldn’t keep my hand out of the bag while I was making these.

Next comes the easy part: mix everything together and plop on a baking sheet.

Then the hard part: waiting those 14 minutes while they are in the oven, filling your house with the delectable aroma of fresh baked cookies. Ohhhhh. I am drooling.

I’ll take one.

Or two.

Or five…

And a few more cherries.

And a cold glass of milk.

I may or may not have spoiled my dinner…

Worth it!

So what are you waiting for?

Father’s Day is tomorrow! Get baking!

Happy Weekend!

4 thoughts on “Cherry Oatmeal Pancake Cookies

  1. Looks yummy!! I bet my dad would love these, but thankfully I already bought him his gift (and I agree, dads are difficult to buy for!). I bought him a new beach shirt for our summer wedding. It was kind of easy this year!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Homemade Cashew Butter | On the Road to RD

  3. Pingback: One Lovely Blog | On the Road to RD

  4. Pingback: Aspiration {Inspiration} :: Worth It? | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

