Homemade Cashew Butter

Oh yes.

I’ve done it!

I’ve made my very first batch of homemade nut butter.

I hate calling it nut butter.

It doesn’t bother Vegan Vinniee tho…

Nice neck tat.

{Trying my best to keep my commentary pg-rated here.}

But before we go in to the recipe…

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

Have you given your dad a hug yet today?

[I have not, yet. He is still snoozing away.]

Hopefully you figured out what to get him.

And if not, check out yesterday’s Cherry Oatmeal Pancake Cookie idea. A crowd pleaser, for sure.

______

Okay, on to the nuts!

So Dad and I picked up this ginormous container of cashews at Costco, so I could make my favorite post-workout energy bites.

There were a ton left over.

And I thought to myself… “what to do, what to do with all these lovely cashews?” [poet status, man.]

Fancy cashews, at that.

What makes one cashew fancier than another?

The world may never know..

So anyways, {tangent there…} I thought I’d try my hand at creating my very own homemade nut butter! I looked at about a million recipes online, and with the access to my parent’s hand little food processor, I thought, I can do this!

Why not give it a whirl? Literally. {Oh, man, I crack myself up sometimes.}

_____

Stephanie’s Homemade Cashew Butter

{Vegan, Gluten-Free}

Yield: 1/2 C

Ingredients:

  • 1 C roasted, salted cashews*
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

*You can use unsalted too, just add about an 1/8th of a tsp of salt

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Blend, blend, blend until mixture reaches desired consistency.

_____

HOW SIMPLE!

I mean, seriously, it does not get any easier than this.

Behind the scenes.

Look Ma! No mess!

And the results?

Delicious to say the least.

Lunch is served.

And no, I did not just have cashew butter for lunch, as my sly grin may suggest.

Happy Father’s Day!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Cashew Butter

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog | On the Road to RD

  2. Pingback: Aspiration {Inspiration} :: Worth It? | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

