Race Recap :: Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon

Oh boy, oh boy. I’m finally getting around to my Race Recap! Woohoo!

The weekend started with a very wet drive over the mountains to Seattle. It rained pretty much all day Friday which kept us cooped up in the car instead of out roaming the streets of Seattle. We decided the first thing we would do is hit up the expo at Century Link Field to get my bib number and swag bag.

The check-in process went very smooth.  I didn’t even have to wait in line.

After check-in, I was ready to load up on free samples.  I love free stuff.  And new-to-me free stuff is even better!

It was definitely an impressive Expo.  TONS of vendors and goodies.

As we entered, Scott Jurek was signing copies of his book Eat and Run.

Then we picked up our pre-ordered tickets for the monorail.  The fam and I decided to do the whole mass transit thing instead of driving in and trying to find a parking spot on race day.  It worked out perfectly.  In fact, I think it’s the only way I want to get to a race from now on.  Completely stress free.

The goodies.

  1. Jamba Juice :: I enjoyed a free strawberry Jamba Juice post-race too!
  2. Manuka Newton Snack Bars :: Oh, man. These were SO good. Manuka honey is where it’s AT.
  3. I entered to win a Nike Sports Watch :: Still waiting to hear that I’m a winner.
  4. Think Thin Bars :: Mom really likes the Crunch Carmel Chocolate Dipped Mixed Nuts Bar.
  5. So Delicious :: I didn’t try, but the parents liked the Mini Coconut Ice Cream Bars.
  6. DetermiNation :: An American Cancer Society program for athletes that wish to dedicate their training and endurance race participation to ending Cancer and to honor fallen soldiers.  This was really touching.
  7. LaraBar :: I got one of each flavor – plus their newest über Bars, which I like, but I am a traditionalist and like the original best.
  8. Shoe Harvest :: Donate your old shoes for a good cause.
  9. Food Should Taste Good :: Picked up a bag of Blue Corn and Sweet Potato.  LOVE.
  10. O.N.E. Coconut Water :: I love that they had this.  I am a big fan of coconut water for my pre- and post-race hydration.
  11. Cascadian Farm Granola :: I usually avoid granola, but this was really good.
  12. Shoe Charms :: How cute!  Although, I’d be worried I’d lose them.

I got a TON of swag.  I didn’t eat anything at the expo just so I could make sure to keep things as routine as possible.  In fact, I packed all my own food from home for Friday and Saturday morning.  Here’s what I’ve came back to the hotel with:

  1. Sweaty Bands :: I have a tradition that I purchase at least one headband at every race I run {that has an expo}.  I am obsessed with Sweaty Bands – they are backed with velvet so you never have to worry about losing them or having your headband slide around while running.
  2. Race T :: A very nice tech tee.
  3. GU Octane :: I don’t use gels ever – Anyone wanna try?
  4. Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Products :: I am looking forward to using these.  Apparently, they tingle everywhere!
  5. Smartfood Selects Hummus Popped Chips :: Holy smokes, were these good.  It’s on the grocery store list.
  6. More granola :: The benefit of having a posse with you at the expo is you come home with EXTRA swag.
  7. Downey Unstopables :: I’m a little nervous about trying this out, as I have a super sensitive nose and sometimes certain scents give me headaches.  What you are supposed to do is throw these babies in the wash and it boosts the fresh scent.

I was in bed by 7:00 that night, but definitely did not get to sleep by then.  We were right across the hall from the party room.  Plus, my mom and her TV.  Plus, my dad and his snoring.  Needless to say, it made for a rough night.  I didn’t drift off until 11:00ish or so, with a wake-up call at 3:45 am.  Not. enough. sleep.

We left the hotel at 4:45 am to make our way to Seattle’s new Light Rail.  The ride into downtown took us about 40 minutes, and then we caught the Monorail from Westlake into Seattle Center.

We had about 45 minutes to kill before the race start, which was just enough time to people watch {loved the rock ‘n’ roll costumes}, go to the bathroom, warm-up, go to the bathroom again {my nervous habit}, and get lined up.

I was in corral 2, just behind the elite athletes, so we didn’t have to wait for a second gun/wave.

I started off super strong.  The first 4 miles or so were flat and fast.

I was zooming a long, until the first hill.  A super steep up-hill followed by crazy sharp decline.

Then more rolling hills.  Around mile 8 I lost major steam.  I.was.dying.  So I grabbed a Gatorade {something I never do} and tried to get things back on track.  I think my fatigue can be attributed to lack of sleep, lack of a big enough breakfast, and the fact that I ran the Winthrop Half Marathon 12 days prior.

Slowly the Gatorade worked itself in to my system and I was able to pick up the pace again and finish the race strong.

Results
Time :: 1:33:14
Pace :: 7:07 min/mile
Division :: 8th out of 1,510 runners
Gender :: 28th out of 9,470 runners
Overall :: 166th out of 14,089 runners

Not too shabby, but as you can see, I am happy be to done. {side note: hello overexposed}

I then proceeded to guzzle a bottle of water, a strawberry Jamba Juice, and a coconut water + picking up more goodies.  Hey, you never know when hunger may attack!

A leisurely walk back to the Light Rail station was the perfect cool down.

Checking out the sites along the route…

Most definitely a fun weekend in Seattle and a great race!  Plus, an added bonus that the rain held out for us crazy runners!

Now I am looking forward to a summer of running for fun – no training schedule, no pace to beat, no self-imposed stress – just fun!  And maybe a little speedwork. 😉 Sub 1:30 baby. It’s going to happen.

Peace, Love, & Rock ‘n’ Roll!

5 thoughts on “Race Recap :: Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon

  1. That elusive 1:30 barrier taunts me as well — we have the same immediate goal in mind. One day, with fresh legs and under 50-degree cloudy skies it will happen. I like your collages – it really lets you put a lot more into limited space. Also, I ran with Scott Jurek a few weeks ago while hew as promoting Eat and Run. He’s not only a crazy talented runner – he’s a pretty cool dude.

    Keep it up!

    Like

  2. Holy MOly….I just found your blog and have to say that isn’t life comparative? your 1:33 is my dream! At the same time, sometimes goals can eek out the pleasure of just your body….running….at your will….I am sometimes happy to run 10, and then other times, 4 feels so YUCKY!….anyway, I am happy to find you and cheer lead you on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

