Three Bean Mediterranean Burger + {A G.i.v.e.a.w.a.y!}

Good morning!  Good morning!

I have a delicious little recipe to share with you today.

My first recipe using my birthday food processor!

And we’ve got another first here at On the Road to RD – A GIVEAWAY!

Well, not quite a car, per se… but as a future RD {like moi}, it’s right up there on the same level!

An Ozeri Touch Professional Digital SCALE!

Dang! Is that thing fancy or WHAT?  It’s like an iPad for your kitchen!

We will go in to details in just a moment, but first, the recipe!

Three Bean Mediterranean Burger

{Gluten-Free}
{Vegetarian}

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 10 minutes

Yield: 6 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 C uncooked sprouted bean mix
  • 3 C water
  • 1/4 onion (cut into 1″ pieces)
  • 1 Tbs fresh basil
  • 1/2 C sliced sundried tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 4 ounces goat cheese
  • 1/3 C ground flax
  • 2 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp reduced sodium soy sauce
  • Seasoning as desired

Directions:

  1. Cook beans.  1 C beans to 3 C water.  Bring to a boil, cover and let simmer for 5 minutes, remove from heat and let sit for 10 minutes covered.  Drain water.
  2. Add cooked beans, onion, basil, sundried tomatoes, garlic, flax, sauces, and seasoning to food processor and mix until uniform consistency.
  3. Form mixture into 6 patties.
  4. Grill for 5 minutes on each side and enjoy!

_____

All I can say is YUM!

…And thank god there were no raw eggs/meat in this, because I could not keep sneaking little bites of the pre-grilled burger.

This is the bean trio I used, containing sprouted lentils, adzuki, and mung beans, purchased at the one-and-only Costco.

I love the bright mixture of colors, but you could substitute for just lentils if that’s all you have on hand.

The food processor’s maiden voyage.

Fresh Basil from the garden is like no other. Mmmm smells so good.

Here is the seasoning I chose.

Another Costco special, containing a blend of…

onion, garlic, carrot, black pepper, red bell pepper, tomato granules, orange peel, parsley, bay leaves, thyme, basil, celery, lemon peel, oregano, savory, mustard seed, cumin, marjoram, coriander, cayenne pepper, citric acid, and rosemary.

So. dang. good.

I have been using this on pretty much everything this summer.



These babies are ready for the grill!

Pair with a nice smoky Syrah and bing cherries, and darlin’, you have got yourself a meal.

_____

Okay! Now on to the FREE stuff!

Ozeri Touch Professional Digital Scale

The fine folks from SlimKicker, a healthy living & fitness website/app, contacted me with a request to do a giveaway for my readers!*

SlimKicker is a calorie tracker with a fun twist.

Like ordinary diet trackers, you input your daily intake using tools to calculate calories via their extensive food database. They seriously have everything – from fast food to whole food to grocery store prepared food [think Wegmans, Kroger, or Safeway].

Here’s the kick, for every healthy food you track and fitness challenge you complete, you get points, effectively turning your diet and fitness goals into a level-up game with rewards.

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post about Making Changes, it’s important to set up a system to reward yourself when you meet your goals.  SlimKicker has a nice feature that allows you to take a picture of your pre-determined treat {for example, a new pair of running shoes, or a relaxing afternoon at the spa}  and will remind you to reward yourself when you’ve reached a certain number of points.

Additionally, as you continue to level up, you will be able to participate in SlimKicker giveaways for prizes!  Everyone needs a little motivation now and again, right?

Here is where SlimKicker needs our help:  SlimKicker is looking for new challenge ideas, such as quitting soda or moving during TV commercials.  I’m currently completing the “10 Wall Squats a Day” Challenge.

For example) A Salad A Day – Eat a salad once a day for the next 7 days.

_____

To Enter:

Leave a comment with a suggestion on a fun, creative fitness or diet challenge with a brief description.

SlimKicker will then pick their favorite and I’ll announce the winner of the Ozeri Touch Professional Digital Scale next week!

Good Luck and May the Best Challenge Win!

 

* I was is no way compensated by SlimKicker.  The thoughts and opinions shared in this post are my own.

19 thoughts on “Three Bean Mediterranean Burger + {A G.i.v.e.a.w.a.y!}

  1. I love my food processor, and one of the reasons is because of it’s ability to help me make bean burgers, like this! I love this recipe, especially because it contains my favorite cheese…goat cheese!
    I’ll have to get back on a challenge idea. Don’t really have a creative brain at the moment. Great giveaway though!! Every RD should have a food scale.

    Like

  2. Yum!! Costco is one of my fav places on earth! I actually saw that bean mix but wasn’t sure what to do with it. This recipe sounds perfect! And good to know I’m not the only one who gets their super-sized spices! I love their cinnamon.
    My challenge is to cook with at least one new veggie each week!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Collin Comes to Town :: Part 3 – Final Days in Seattle | On the Road to RD

  4. Pingback: Collin Comes to Town :: Part 4 – Eastern Washington | On the Road to RD

  5. This looks so yummy! Do you think it would still turn out ok if I left the cheese out? Or would it mess up the consistency? Love your recipes!
    My challenge suggestion is to cut out added sugars for one week. 🙂

    Like

  6. Use the weekly sale ad of your favorite store to inspire you to try at least one new recipe per week. All of those recipes you\’ve been saving or pinning can finally go to use– and at a discount!

    Like

  7. Pingback: How To :: Quicky Corn | On the Road to RD

  8. Pingback: July Round-Up | On the Road to RD

  9. Something I do when the weather is gross outside and I am having a hate relationship with the treadmill is to do squats or calf raises while brushing my teeth and getting ready as a challenge to get in another form or exercise or movement. I also like to set a timer for like 30 minutes and see how fast I can vacuum, dust and just clean. You get a good workout and at the end a nice, clean house. Or I do jumping jacks or crunches between commercials or studying.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pal Reveal and Giveaway Winner | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

