July Round-Up

Can you believe my favorite month is almost done?

July was a blast!

Let’s Review:

Recipes

And of course My Birthday!

And we can’t forget the Giveaway for a Free Kitchen Scale by SlimKicker. Incidentally, today is your last day to enter to win!

Also, there are a few lesser known activities here on the ol’ blog, such as a couple of extended family get togethers, and my foray into the wild world of swimming.  If you follow me on Daily Mile, then you may have caught a glimpse of my splashing around.  I don’t have any big announcements as far as signing up for a triathlon, but I am testing the waters, so to speak.  I am really bad, but getting better.  All swimming advice is welcome!

July also welcomed a new addition to my diet :: Fish!  A combination of constant fatigue and delayed recovery time prompted me to slowly start incorporating this delicious protein source  into my daily meals.  It seems to be helping, especially with recovery.  I’m still working on the fatigue part.  The past few runs I’ve been having weird blood sugar drops half way through.  I’m playing around with some different pre-run options and I’ll let you know which seems to be working!

_____

So that brings us to August!

Now we get into Operation :: Internship Preparation.

I’ve been slowly checking things off my to-do list, but with the first of the month around the corner, I am starting to feel the pinch. 37 Days until Orientation!

  • Renew Academy Membership
  • Renew Nutrition Care Manual
  • Request transcripts
  • Receive Verification Statement
  • Get a physical/TB test
  • Change healthcare
  • Send all paperwork to my Internship Director
  • Find an apartment
  • Make arrangements for moving

It’s all very exciting, although I am slightly apprehensive to make another move to uncharted territory {Chicago, New York City, Rochester, and now add SLO to that list}.  Thankfully, through the wonder of Facebook, all the interns have made contact, and I think we are going to have a great bunch!

That’s all for now!  Check back tomorrow for the Giveaway Winner AND my Foodie Pen Pal Reveal!

And if you haven’t already, go enter the contest to WIN!

Later Gatorz!

6 thoughts on “July Round-Up

  1. Have you tried eating during your runs? I have extremely low energy if I don’t eat during runs of an hour or longer. I usually start eating (shot blocks, raisins, oranges or pretzels) in mile 2 or 3 if I’m doing a distance run.

    Like

    • Oh yes, when I was marathon training I dealt with all of that, and actually did an entire research paper on fueling for the endurance athlete. I’m a little obsessed with sports nutrition. 😉 This is a little different, as I’m experiencing low blood sugar symptoms on easy 3-5 mile runs. Very odd for me.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pal Reveal and Giveaway Winner | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

