Fresh Moz & Basil Pizza Muffins

Heyo!

Comin’ ‘atcha bright and early, so I can squeeze in a run and lift before my Nutrition Care Process Webinar.  Oh yeah, I’m stoked to get down with nutrition diagnostic language and charting.  I know there are some other future RDs out there that like to write a mean PES statement.  It’s okay, don’t be shy.

Yeah! And proud of it, baby!

_____

On to the topic of today’s post :: PIZZA!

Not too long ago, C-dizzle sent me a picture he found on the internets of pizza in muffin form.

{Uh, genius. Can you say perfect portion control?}

And then that same day I received my Foodie Pen Pal Box from Meagan that contained a box of gluten-free pizza mix!

It was fate!

So I bring you…
_____

Fresh Moz & Basil Pizza Muffins

{vegetarian}
{gluten-free}

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 16 minutes

Yield: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 box pizza crust mix (I used Chebe which had a really good taste!)*
  • 6 oz fresh mozzarella
  • pizza sauce
  • handful of large olives, chopped
  • fresh basil

*You can make this with conventional pizza dough too!

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Prepare muffin tin with non-stick spray.
  3. Prepare pizza dough according to package instructions.
  4. Divide dough in half, saving half for the top of the muffins.
  5. Take one half of the dough, and create 12 even balls.  Roll out into a disc like shape and press into the bottom of the muffin tins.
  6. Spoon a teaspoon of pizza sauce onto the crust.
  7. Add desired toppings, such as a quarter of an ounce of mozzarella, and a slice of olive.
  8. Repeat step 5 with the remaining dough.  Pinch the ends of the top and bottom crust together.
  9. Top pizza muffins with more sauce, cheese, olives, and basil, as desired.
  10. Place muffin tin in the oven for 16 minutes, or until cheese turns a golden brown.
  11. Remove from oven and let set 5 minutes before removing pizza muffins.
  12. Enjoy piping hot!

_____

And now for the instructions via pictures…

Gather up your ingredients, and prepare your pizza crust.

Roll out the crust into discs and place in muffin tin bottom.

Add {inside} toppings.

As you can see I used pre-sliced fresh mozzarella, which I then quartered for my miniature pizza muffins.

Add the top crust and pinch together.

And more toppings!

Pop in the oven and enjoy!

As you can see, my toppings slid a bit to the side during baking. Smaller chopped olives and basil would be my recommendation. But don’t worry, it still tasted awesome!

Pizaaaaa!

Cowabunga Pizza Dudes!

6 thoughts on “Fresh Moz & Basil Pizza Muffins

  1. PES statement…oh boy…something to look forward to 😉
    And how darling are these lil pizza muffins?!? I love anything bite-sized! Love it! And I LOVE the new look! The profile pic of you is so gorgeous!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Whirlwind of a Day | On the Road to RD

  3. Saw on Facebook a post on my wall about these muffin pizza bites! I have everything I need to make these delicious looking GLUTEN FREE pizza bites and plan on doing so first thing tomorrow!! Thank you for sharing this with the rest of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

