{Better Late than Never} Foodie Pen Pal!

Hello and happy hump day!

I hate when people call it hump day… I don’t know why I just did that.

Anyways, today was Day 2 of my Dietetic Internship Orientation, and once again, I have nothing but good things to say about the girls.  As did our speaker from WIC- she said in the 9 years that she has been coming and speaking with Cal Poly interns, we are the best group she has had! Woohoo! Go us!  We are certainly an intelligent, inquisitive, and engaged group.

I won’t go into all the details, but basically, today was all about breastfeeding – 7 hours worth of information.  [Well, actually a little less because we were done slightly early – my girls are wicked smaht.]

Now! More importantly…

Yes, yes, yes. I know I am super late on this, but life is busy, yo!

I received my goodie box from a lovely reader, Gina!

Shoutout to Gina – HEY GINA!

Gina and I both were moving in the month of August, so pardon the delay.

This box was in.cred.i.ble. No joke.  Gina went above and beyond the call of duty. I could not believe how much stuff I received!!

Here’s what I got…

Adorable card.

Spicy seaweed – delish.

Addicting. I just was plowing through these as my after school snack.  The bag had to be pryed from my hands.

Satisfied last night’s sweet tooth!

Can’t wait to put this in my morning yogurt!

Had this on my PB & Jam breakfast this morning. To die for.

LOVE Burt’s Bees.

Totally packing this for tomorrow’s snack.

I see a perfect busy-dietetic-intern-on-the-go-no-time-to-cook dinner in my future!

I’ve always wanted to try this mix.  Perfect for my weekend pancake fix!

Just about to sit down to a Tortilla Pizza dinner made with these!

Amazing, right?

THANK YOU GINA!

I love foodie pen pals.  And maybe you might too!

Here are the details:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal! 
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. 
-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

Check out Lindsay’s site for more information!

Well, time to dig into that pizza.  Tonight is glow-in-the-dark ultimate frisbee with a fellow intern, Anna, and her friends! So excited to meet some people my own age! Hopefully I won’t make too much of a fool out of myself – I have no idea how to play, much less throw a frisbee. Ha! It will be fun!

Have a great night!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “{Better Late than Never} Foodie Pen Pal!

  1. Good luck during your internship in California! It looks like you are off to a great start! I will be starting an internship through Central Washington Univeristy and have been placed in Wenatchee. Just wondering if you have any tips for places to check out in town or fun things to do in the area. Thanks!

    Like

    • Ahh! Rachel! This is so exciting! I was wondering who would be placed in Wenatchee!

      Let’s see, things to do… Hike up Saddlerock, visit Lake Chelan and go wine tasting and if it is warm enough still, hit up the water slides too, explore Leavenworth {and check out South for Mexican food and margaritas}, bike the Apple Loop {if you don’t have a bike, the place on Maiden Lane by Home Depot has rentals for the day}, take a tour of the Applet’s and Cotlet’s factory in Cashmere and while you’re there pick up one of the incredible pies at Sure to Rise Bakery, rent paddleboards or kayaks at Walla Walla Point Park, take in a Wild hockey game, go snowshoeing/skiing/snowboarding up at Mission Ridge, do Yoga in the Park on Wednesday evenings up at Ohme Gardens …

      Places to eat: McGlinn’s {get the beer bread!}, Garlini’s, Shakti’s for drinks {or for a fancy dinner}, Cafe Mela for coffee or wine and a little local music, Wok About Grill and pop in to Stemilt Creek Winery next door for a tasting, Bob’s Classic for $2 drinks on Thursday Ladies’ Nite, Cuc Tran for vietnamese/asian food, Lemolo’s or the Cellar Cafe for sandwiches & salads, Wild Huckleberry for brunch, Original J’s for terriyaki, Fujiyama for hibachi…

      You are going to have a blast in Wenatchee! It is such a beautiful, little town. Hopefully you aren’t getting too smoked out with the fire! I’d love to hear how things are going and what your rotations are! Keep me updated and let me know if you need any directions, people to talk to, other places/things to do, or really anything! Yay! Have FUN!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pal! | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

