Lessons from a Dietetic Intern

Good morning!

It’s a quiet one here, as both of my roommates are out on their first day of rotation.

Why not me, you may ask?

Apparently, there was a little miscommunication prior to us all arriving in SLO.  I guess some of the preceptors thought we would already have a background check completed as part of our Summer-To-Do-List, so when my preceptor contacted me almost two weeks ago asking if I had gotten mine done already, I of course said no.  The next day, I made sure to get the form in, so things could begin processing.  After several e-mails back and forth, and a phone call to the hospital’s HR department, there is still no background check results. {Apparently, there is an influx of government workers needing to get their background checks done, making the whole process go a lot slower than usual.}

My inner control-freak is wringing her hands and pacing back and forth like a maniac, but outwardly I am trying my best to remain calm.  Graciously, my preceptor said that she will provide me with some homework, so I don’t fall behind in my required hours.  Worst case scenario, I come in a couple of weekends to make up time.

Even before I have started my dietetic internship I have learned some great lessons.

First off, communicate, communicate, communicate.  

Before orientation last week, I had no idea that it would be my responsibility to call my preceptors to let know that I would be coming in to work for them.  I just thought that they had the intern schedule, and would be expecting us.  You have to remember that preceptors are busy, hard-working men and women, with their own jobs to complete {PLUS, they aren’t paid to have us follow them around}.  I’m sure many of them are on the ball, and ready for each of us to arrive, but it is common courtesy to call and announce your arrival to their facility.  To ensure I give each of my preceptors fair warning, I have marked my calender with when and who I have to call.

The next big lesson is flexibility.

This whole background check situation is enough to make anyone go a little cuckoo, but you must remain composed and not allow yourself to stress out about something that is out of your control.  I know that I have done everything in my power to remain in contact with the hospital, but at this point, it is just a waiting game.  My schedule may be slightly different than the other interns due to my delayed start, but it’s not the end of the world – the hours will get completed.  And I have to look at the bright side – maybe I will get a bonus weekend experience that may be slightly different that the Monday through Friday routine.

There can be another lesson found here: Stay positive.

So for now, I patiently wait, review websites for other rotations, complete any assigned homework way ahead of time, and enjoy paradise AKA the place I call home now.  Nothin’ wrong with that.

Ocean sunset.

Thursday Night SLO Farmer’s Market.

The coolest town ever.

First Thursday Themed Bike Ride through SLO. {This picture does not do it justice – SO many cyclists!}

Keep It Cool, Ladies and Gentlemen.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lessons from a Dietetic Intern

  1. Great lessons! Every student should remember these. I too had some major set backs at my first site. Like the fact that they wanted my TB redone, re xrayed…and then all but one RD quit my hospital.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dietetic Internship Update :: Food Service Management | On the Road to RD

  3. Pingback: Menus + Spreadsheets + Games! Oh my! | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

