The Dessert Salad :: Spiced Cocoa-Candied Almonds with a Blueberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

You know I’m all about eating healthy, but sometimes girlfriend just needs to satisfy a sweet tooth.

Veggies don’t always have to be savory.  And I’m here to proclaim that good news.

I bring you The Dessert Salad.

Oh yes.

Dessert.

Salad.

Hallelujah!

The Dessert Salad

{vegetarian}
{gluten-free}

Prep time: 15 minutes
Yield: 4 salads

Ingredients:

Salad

  • 8 C mixed greens
  • 4 large roasted beets, sliced
  • grilled asparagus
  • 4 oz goat cheese {or feta, or blue cheese… really any cheese you like}
  • any other veggies {mushrooms, artichokes, beans}

Spiced Cocoa Candied Almonds

  • 1/4 C sliced almonds
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1/2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 Tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp chili powder
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Blueberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • 1 Tbs finely chopped/smashed blueberries
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs honey

Instructions:

  1. In a large pan, melt butter and brown sugar over medium heat.  Mix in cocoa, chili powder, and cinnamon.  Add sliced almonds and toss well to coat for about 5 minutes.
  2. Remove almonds from heat, spread out and let cool on a piece of tin foil.
  3. In a small bowl, or salad dressing shaker, add all ingredients for Blueberry Balsamic Vinaigrette.  Shake well.
  4. Combine salad ingredients, sprinkle with candied almonds, cheese, and drizzle vinaigrette on top.  Enjoy!

_____

I love the spicy kick to the almonds.  If you are more daring, add a little extra chili powder.

Try not to eat them all before they get on your salad…

Sweet, but not too sweet.

Just right for those afternoons when you need a little treat!

{Poet status.}

Have a great Thursday!

Peace Out!

4 thoughts on “The Dessert Salad :: Spiced Cocoa-Candied Almonds with a Blueberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

  1. uh dessert salad? sign me up!! ok hello! so this is my first time commenting on your blog, I actually found it a couple weeks ago. anyway I just wanted to say that I’m also at the start of my DI and we totally have a ton in common (wino? aviators?) so I felt the need to say hi! I dont have a blog yet but I’ve always wanted one and I think maybe now would be a good time to so that I can write about my rotations and look back on my blogs when I’m all done to remember everything that happened! Any suggestions on getting started?? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Emily! Nice to virtually meet you! Where are you doing your DI? I’m a big fan of the whole blogging thing for selfish reasons such as, I have a horrendous memory and need to write everything down or else I forget them. ha! No, but seriously, its a great way to catalog activities, as well as connect/network with other interns and RDs. As far as suggestions on getting started, just start writing! It may take time to find your “voice,” or build readership, or figure out what your blog’s “goal” is {mine is more of a virtual scrapbook/journal, semi-educational, and not done for any monetary purposes at the present}, but if you just start putting words down, it seems like it all just comes together. Regarding blogging platforms, I started with blogger, and then transferred over to wordpress simply because of formatting and appearance. I’ll probably switch again at some point – I can be indecisive. πŸ˜‰ And the last thing, social media is intended to be social! Commenting {as you have done on my dear ol’ blog} and conversing with other bloggers/twitterers/facebookers makes people happy! I definitely don’t do enough of that myself, but it’s a goal I’m working on. πŸ™‚ Feel free to contact me with any other questions AND let me know if you create a blog! I’d love to read about your adventures!

      Like

Leave a Reply

