Since You’ve Been Gone

Mondays are such wonderful days to start fresh and get back on track.

Not that I’ve been that off track {besides the whole blogging thing…}.

In fact, I’ve been, for the most part, incredibly busy.

haven-heard-back-assume-reminders-ecard-someecards

Let’s see…

I last left you in December.

Cue: blurry flash back and twilight zone music

I had finished up my School Food Service Rotation and moved on to Community Health Centers with a kickass RD.

Community-Health-Centers

This rotation focused on counseling pregnant women {with or without diabetes} to ensure they were getting adequate nutrition, understood pregnancy food risks (mercury, foodborne illnesses, etc.), and helped troubleshoot any of those pesky pregnancy side-effects.

She threw me right in to counseling clients on the first day. It was thrilling {and slightly frightening}! During this rotation, I became quite intimate with the exchange system, pregnancy weight gain guidelines, medications/supplements approved for pregnancy, foods to avoid/incorporate, gestational diabetes recommendations… gosh, I could keep going.

Needless to say, I learned a ton.

_____

Then it was home for Christmas break…

photo-1

Home sweet home.

photo

Hometown lovin’. So hard.

_____

Next up! My 10-week Clinical Rotation! {The main reason I have been absent.}

vintique_image(4)

Once again, I was thrown right in.  Starting with 2-3 patients working my way to a full load of 12-15 per day.

I went in to Clinical thinking that this was an area that I probably wouldn’t pursue as a future career, but surprise, surprise-  I l.o.v.e.d. it!

Maybe it was the brand spankin’ new hospital, the supportive interdisciplinary team, or the incredibly helpful, patient, and intelligent RDs who I worked with… My experience was steller.

I also have to give a big shout out to my undergrad MNT education at RIT – I came in to Clinical so prepared.

And even though, I’ve finished my 10 weeks, I’ll be back for more – 2 weeks of staff relief in June and I’ll be sporadically working on a menu planning project for my elective.

If you have any specific questions about my different specialty rotations at the hospital feel free to contact me.

i_love_clinical_dietitians_mousepads-p144330103248811490eng3t_400Can someone buy me this mousepad?

_____

Currently, I am rotating at WIC {Women, Infants, and Children}.

wic_logo

Lemme tell you, WIC is way more than just breastfeeding and food vouchers.

A big part of the dietitian’s jobs is meeting the requirements of the various different grants that fund their salaries – this includes food demonstrations, nutrition education classes, dentistry, and other community-based nutrition/health/wellness programs.

I’m learning a lot about government nutrition programs and being exposed to a wide variety of issues.  Certainly eye-opening and interesting.

_____

Whew! I think we are up to speed now.

Looking forward- I have a mere 3 months till DI graduation.  Where has the time gone?

I’m going to do my best to bring you more frequent updates – I’m thinking I could handle weekly or biweekly posts.

out-to-lunch-by-natalie-dee

We’ll see how it goes… ha!

Until then!

Hasta La Vista, Baby!

4 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone

  1. Ahhhh how exciting! Were you at Marian? I am trying to do my clinical rotations there during the summer if I get my distance internship! I am so excited that you are blogging again. I missed your updates on CP internship!

    Like

  2. I just got my acceptance to SLO!! I’m so excited and love being able to get a glimpse of this awesome program through your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

