Almond Quinoa & Oat Waffles with Blueberry Drizzle

Happy Monday!  Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  I’m still in weekend mode as I am still off from work today.  Monday = the new Sunday for this girl.  When I first started my job at the hospital I thought I would hate my new “weekend,” but being off Monday does have it’s perks.  I’m able to make appointments, get in great workouts, meal prep, and run errands without having to fight the hustle of the weekend crowd.  It also makes the traditional Sunday Funday mimosa brunch a little less guilt-inducing knowing that I have the next day off. 😉

Speaking of which, Jaime and I went back to Luna Red yesterday from Sunday brunch to get our fix.  Jaime loves the chicken and quinoa waffles, and I love that he loves such a awesome whole grain version of his favorite food.  So in attempt to satisfy the craving, I decided to make my own version the recipe.  And to my delight, these turned out {in my humble opinion} EVEN BETTER than Luna Red’s!  Full of texture, fiber, protein, and flavor. Mmmmm. Gimme.  And instead of the savory fried chicken-scrambled egg-topping route, I went with a luscious blueberry drizzle.  But to be honest, you don’t even need syrup for these waffles.  They are that good.

_____

Almond Quinoa & Oat Waffles with Blueberry Drizzle

{Gluten-Free}
Prep time: 30 min {less if you have quinoa pre-preped}
Cook Time: 10 mins
Makes 4 waffles.

gluten free

Ingredients:

Almond Oat & Quinoa Waffle 

  • 1 C cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 C rolled oats
  • 3/4 C gluten-free all purpose flour {regular will work too}
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 C water

Blueberry Drizzle

  • 1 C frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 C real maple syrup

Instructions:

For Waffles:

  1. Add cooked quinoa, rolled oats, gluten-free flour {I used Bob’s Red Mill}, salt, and cinnamon to a large bowel.  Mix until combined.
  2. In a small bowl, add eggs, vegetable oil, brown sugar, vanilla extract, and almond extract.  Whisk together.
  3. Add liquid ingredients to dry and stir to combine.  Add up to 1/4 C water to thin batter.  Add additional 1 Tbs if needed.
  4. Heat waffle maker and spray with cooking oil.  Add batter according to waffle maker instructions and cook.

For Drizzle:

  1. Add frozen blueberries and syrup to a small sauce pan.  Bring to a simmer for approx. 2 minutes.  Pour over waffles.

_____

gluten free

Gahhhhh, I die. SO good.

gluten free

I decided to use my Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Pupose flour to go completely wheat free this morning.  Luna Red’s, however, is not gluten-free.

Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

Rolled oats, quinoa, and gluten-free flour.  Plus a side of fresh-brewed coffee and sunshine.

Making Waffles

Organic eggs, please.

Organic Eggs

gluten free

Now, isn’t that pretty?

Gluten Free Waffles

They are a hearty waffle with great texture.

gluten-free baking

Tons of staying power!

gluten-free

And the sweet, sweet syrup.  Mmmm.

gluten-free

Hope you enjoy!

Have a great week!

 

One thought on “Almond Quinoa & Oat Waffles with Blueberry Drizzle

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu + My New Diet | On the Road to RD

Leave a Reply

