I’m going to run a TRAIL half marathon

Oops, I did it again!  On a whim, I signed up for a race.  And not just any race.  I signed up for a TRAIL half marathon.  What was I thinking?!

Had you asked me two weeks ago if I had any plans to start training for a race, I would have told you that I was enjoying the flexibility of my current workout schedule and that I wasn’t feeling that competitive drive. Racing was not on my radar… but after the SLO Marathon came through town a couple weeks ago, I started to feel the itch.  And then after reading this post that has been circling around the internet, I felt that sticking to a schedule might not be so bad…

And then I got my latest issue of Runner’s World, and a fire was lit in my belly.  I got on my computer and quickly searched for Half Marathons in California, and to my delight, I found a race in Jaime’s hometown of Pollock Pines!

Run on the Sly Half Marathon

Run on the Sly treks through the foothills of Northern California’s Sierra Mountains, about 50 miles southwest of Lake Tahoe.  This race is not for the faint of heart.

Run on the Sly Half Marathon Course

Basically the first 4 miles are a gradual ~1000 ft climb, just to repeat itself again from miles 8-11!  Not to mention I’m going to be going from running/training at sea level then racing at 3600-4200 ft.  What did I get myself into!?  Hills are going to be my frenemy for the next 16 weeks.

Speaking of which, I have found a new intermediate training plan.  Only 4 runs per week.  More trails.  More hills.  More lifting.  I’m actually really digging the endurance aspect of this race, rather than focusing on speed, speed, speed as I have in past races.  I think this race will be really good for improving my mental strength and focus for future road races.  Oh, and did I mention?  No headphones allowed.  Yikes!  Yep, really good mental/positive-thinking training.

You know you’re a runner when “you’re crazy” becomes a compliment.

running half marathon race

 

Keep an eye out for my Weekly Workout Round-Ups for updates on how my training’s going.  Until then…

Keep it crazy.

_____

Here’s your second to last reminder!  If you haven’t done so already,

remember to update your RSS feeds and bookmarks to the new URL: StephanieRDN.com!

7 thoughts on “I’m going to run a TRAIL half marathon

  1. I ran an extremely hilly marathon in April and my body is finally feeling normal again. I’ve never run on trails before – I am always afraid of twisting my ankle so I am interested to see how you like trails! Good luck training!

    Like

    • I’ve done one trail race before but LOVED it! It was just a 5 miler, so slightly different. I love training on trails, so I feel like this race will be a good fit. More adventure than trying to beat the clock. I have had my share of tumbles down hills though – we’ll see if I come out unscathed. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Stephanie,
    Good luck with your training! I don’t have much experience running on trails, so I guess it must be a challenge! I plan on running a half-marathon that’s in Sacramento in June. =)
    Helen

    Like

  3. Good luck with the run Stephanie! Sounds like a great challenge for you.
    Glad to see that you’re back in action with your blog– I’ve always love reading your posts!
    Enjoy your summer!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Moves. Menus. FODMAP update. And other business. | Stephanie Wilson, RDN

Leave a Reply

